Food Pyramid

Indian Balanced Diet Pyramid – Four Meals For Healthy Living

Balance eating should be a part of daily lifestyle and nutrition. By eating healthy, a person makes a rightful choice about the nutrition and food groups required for his/ her body type. A balanced diet serves a balanced wheel for the foods to be eaten and making your body not prone to any kind of co-morbidities or low performance.

Indian Balanced Diet Pyramid

A food pyramid is the tool which helps us to know better how much quantity of food and food choices to be taken into considerations while eating to get optimum nutrition. A food pyramid is also known as “Eating
right pyramid”. It is designed to make food choices healthier and a part of habit in everyday life. It symbolises about eating correct amount from a particular food group which is also said as balanced diet.

This pyramid is categorised into 4 shelves according to the nutrition based on each food group. The ground represents the foods that should be consumed in liberal amounts while top of the triangle pyramid showcase the sources to be avoided or in limited amounts.

Let us have a look on foods that should be eaten adequately, liberally, moderately, and sparingly

1. Consume Adequately

Food group like cereals that contain rice, wheat, jowar, ragi, etc, pulses like beans, peas, etc, nuts and milk, and milk products should be eaten adequately. This group of foods contain macro and micronutrient like carbohydrates, proteins, good fats, B complex Vitamins, and calcium.

2. Consuming Liberally

This contains food groups like fruits and vegetables. Fruits like orange, apple, papaya, pineapple, banana, etc and dark green leafy vegetables like spinach, kale,
fenugreek and other vegetables like brinjal, ladies finger, bitter gourd, etc contains iron, vitamins, and minerals in adequate amounts.

3. Consuming Moderately

Animal food sources like meat, fish, eggs, and poultry is suggested to be consumed in moderation. This category also includes fats like vegetable oil, ghee, and butter as they contain essential fatty acids like omega 3 and omega 6 which plays vital role in treating certain diseases and improve body composition. This food group needs moderation due to it’s ill effects when eaten more than required.

4. Consuming Sparingly

This set of food sources refers to refined and processed foods as they contain bakery items, packets, chips, candies, and all sorts of food sources that are high in saturated & trans fat and sugar and are contributors to metabolic disorder if consumed frequently. So this set of food sources should be consumed sparingly.

The food pyramid also focuses on practicing physical activity and no to smoking and drinking. Thus, food pyramid is known as the healthy eating pyramid theorem because it reflects a guide to proper nutrition guidance and representation of making life healthy with convenience.

Prachi Shah

Let's Connect

I’d love to learn more about you and how we can work together to get our healthy meals on the table.